Week 4

Hola familia y amigos!

Woah did that make me found fluent in Spanish? Hah because I definitely am not. There is nothing more humbling (read: frusterating) than not being able to communicate with people here. As a missionary you have to work so hard at everything and when that includes the language it is very difficult. But alas, this is part of the deal and one day when I can actually speak Spanish maybe I will think back on this part of my mission and think it was really funny.

Okay that was a negative way to start my email. Things are going great here! We have a baptism this coming Saturday!!! Her name is Racquel and she is

11 years old. She took lessons with other missionaries awhile back and we have been teaching her since we got the area. Her baptism will also be on my 1 month mark on the mission which is fun. I realized that if I had reported on June 10th like I was supposed to I would not be able to part of any of the work we have done here thus far. So I am thankful to be here!

We are working with tons of new investigators. Although the task of missionary work is overwhelming. We are walking up to strangers on the street and trying to get them to be baptized, active members of the church. Not easy, but I know it is possible! Also no one here really has addresses and few people have telephones. This also makes the work tricky. Another thing…as if the whole being left as a tiny baby was not bad enough, I am pretty sure the mission is going to give me abandonment issues. We have a full day planned of lessons to teach and then we are lucky if one or two people are actually home and let us teach.

Earlier in the week the buckle on my Birkenstocks broke. To say I was annoyed would be an understatement. However, I remembered we were near a house that has a shoe repair sign on the outside. We had contacted the house before, but they did not let us teach a lesson. Anways the guy was able to fix my shoe and we taught him and his wife. Turned out they had recently lost their 3 month old baby and were SO sad. It was hardest lesson I have been part of so far. Although it was a great reminder why I am here doing what I am doing. All the walking, stuggles, and awkward moments are purposeful.

Similarities I have noticed between church here and back home:

-Sunday school is boring here too. (Whoops I’m not supposed to say that.) -YW and RS do tedious art projects here too. We helped the YW president WEAVE picture frames for father’s day.

-Activities start late here too. They had a father’s day activity that started an hour and 20 minutes late. I think that is a record.

Speaking of that activity we had 2 families attend that activity. One family who is investigating and another who is less active with a daughter who is invesitagting the church. So we we’re pretty pysched about that!

I am learning all sorts of things I never wanted to learn about myself here. Working with a companion makes you think about all sorts of things and feelings which I detest. But I think I actually am learning and growing and all that good stuff…so I guess I have to keep doing it. It is hard for me and my companion to communicate. She doesn’t speak any English and I am so helpless still as I try and learn how to be a missionary. It is challenging because everyday I learn how to do something and then I realize 10 more things I need to master. Oh well. I have had horribly challenging moments when I felt like quitting and then 10 minutes later I am happy as a clam. I am learning how to keep trying even when I don’t want to. At home I would usually just put a sweatsuit on and watch Netflix until I was in a good mood again. However, unfortunately that isn’t really an option here.

More quotes from this week:

-“Only Satan doesn’t pray” -A member to his son -“A missionary is someone who leaves their family for a short time to help others be with their families forever.”

-“I am going to kill a chicken tomorrow.” -The woman who makes us lunch everyday -“We are here to convert, not convince.” -H. Escobar (my comp) -“Heaven will not be Heaven for those who have not chosen to be Heavenly.” -Brad Wilcox. I have read his “His Grace is Sufficient” talk almost everyday. Read it! It is so great.

And for another round of really high quality photos:

This is Kenny. She comes out with us to teach. She was baptized a year ago and wants to serve a mission!

This is Kenny. She comes out with us to teach. She was baptized a year ago and wants to serve a mission!

My eyes are closed, but I love the views here!

My eyes are closed, but I love the views here!

I only took this because the little boy whose house we were at wanted a picture of his airplane. Although I have decided to include it because it looks kind of artsy and it features my planner which has become my new iPhone.

I only took this because the little boy whose house we were at wanted a picture of his airplane. Although I have decided to include it because it looks kind of artsy and it features my planner which has become my new iPhone.

Common around here.

Common around here.

This is what the ward activity I mentioned looked like.

This is what the ward activity I mentioned looked like.

We keep finding investigators that live up mountains...fun stuff

We keep finding investigators that live up mountains…fun stuff

For those that are curious what our apartment looks like. It is huge. We have a room for sleeping, clothes, studying, plus the kitchen and living room. Notice I only have a towel because my comp had bed bugs so we both had to wash everything.  I miss feeling clean.

For those that are curious what our apartment looks like. It is huge. We have a room for sleeping, clothes, studying, plus the kitchen and living room. Notice I only have a towel because my comp had bed bugs so we both had to wash everything. I miss feeling clean.

Imagen 229

Imagen 231

Thanks for your prayers and emails! I miss you all.

-Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

