Week 5 – a baptism!

Hola everyone!

Well we had a baptism! I think I mentioned a little bit about her last week, but her name is Raquel, she’s 11, and adorable, and I love her! Her mom is coming back into activity in the church and we weren’t sure if she was going to give permission for Raquel to be baptized, but she did! I feel so blessed to play a small role in her baptism/conversion process. It is exciting to help youth come closer to the gospel. I don’t know how I would have been able to handle the lovely middle school/high school years without it. Plus now she is coming out to teach with us and wants to serve a mission herself! Best thing ever. And we had 3 more investigators at her baptism! Sadly we didn’t take very many pictures at her baptism because things were a little crazy logistically, but here’s one shot!

Imagen 004

This is a little family photo. Hermana Carcamo in the bright blue was a roommate at the CCM with me. Hermana Borrero in the blue sweater was the companion of my companion before me. And now we're all in the same district.

This is a little family photo. Hermana Carcamo in the bright blue was a roommate at the CCM with me. Hermana Borrero in the blue sweater was the companion of my companion before me. And now we’re all in the same district.

This picture is blurry, but we had divisions with one of the Hermana Leaders this week. I wasn't really sure what to expect, but it was fun! We learned a lot and it was nice spending the day with another hermana.

This picture is blurry, but we had divisions with one of the Hermana Leaders this week. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but it was fun! We learned a lot and it was nice spending the day with another hermana.

We have FHE with all these people which makes me super happy. It is a bunch of members and families that live near each other. Raquel and our other invesitagtor Johnathan always come by. New converts need friends and a support system. Be nice to people who are investigating or are recent converts!

We have FHE with all these people which makes me super happy. It is a bunch of members and families that live near each other. Raquel and our other invesitagtor Johnathan always come by. New converts need friends and a support system. Be nice to people who are investigating or are recent converts!

Other news- I learned how to make my first Guatemalan delicacy…limade. And I have killed two cocroaches. I know it is pretty advanced for only 3 weeks here.

I have gotten so used to no one showing up for our appointments, however earlier this week we showed up for an lesson with 2 ladies we had contacted earlier and they were waiting for us, with their Books of Mormon excited for our lesson. They are super interested in the church. It was a good reminder that we have to show up no matter what because we never know who is ready to receive the gospel.

We’re working with a couple families right now which is great! We are slowly getting to know people in the branch and the work is coming along. I am starting to understand the whole “the days are long, but the weeks are short” thing. Time seems to be passing more quickly. We walk a lot. Like, a lot, a lot. And it’s hot.

If I have learned anything out here, it’s that families are so important. The saddest and most difficult situations I have seen here all stem from problems within families…cheating on spouses, substance problems, teenage pregnancy. Love your families and take care of them!

I am grateful to be here! There are lots of challenging moments, but I know I am here to focus on helping others rather than focus on myself. The church is true! Love you and miss you all!

H Scruggs

Leave a Reply

