Week 17 – 9/22/15

Ni hao (the only think I can say in Chinese when everyone asks me to speak Chinese), Welp this week (and entire transfer) we have had muchas actividades, hence the time seems to be going by speedy quick. Hah are you allowed to put hence and speedy quick in the same sentence?

We’ve been teaching an investigator, Elena for this entire transfer. She is so ready and really wants to be baptized, but her boyfriend really doesn’t want to get married. He says it’s too much of a commitment…even though they already live together and have 2 kids. Although her boyfriend came to church for the first time yesterday and we are really hoping that he will start listening to us. The gospel is about helping families, so it would be so incredible to teach them both.

Anyways….Hermana Guerrero was super sick on Tuesday so I went out in divisions with a member. This member doesn’t really talk much, but I didn’t think it was going to be a big deal until the investigator we were visiting started angrily demanding passages from the Bible to back up everything I was saying. Basically during all of my mission I have deffered such charming moments to my companions who know the Bible, Spanish, and how to teach super Evangelic people better than I. However, I somehow managed to quickly find a couple of scriptures I needed. Honestly, it was such a tender mercy because the investigator kept listening and I really don’t know the Bible as well as I should. Feeling helpless is probably good for me. I reminds me how much I need my companion and the Spirit!

Also this week a member randomly called us and asked us to pick up some extra food they had to give to someone in need. I was slightly annoyed because we had already lost a lot of time that day, they lived far away, we had appointments, and we were supposed to be out visiting the people. But of course we went. The next day we were teaching a single mom with 4 kids who immediately started crying because she has been out of work for awhile a didn’t know how she was going to feed her kids. Obviously we had the food from the previous day. This experience made me aware of two things: that God is really aware of our needs and answers prayers. And that I never once in my life have had to worry about where my next meal was going to come from. I am one of few people in the world that can say that, and it’s not fair.

We had a special conference just for hermanas this week. It was sublime…all the best parts of being a sister missionary, YW, and RS combined: toliet paper dresses, flowers, table cloths, light instrumental hymns, paninis, and plenty of handouts of course. Haha, but honestly it was really such an inspiring conference. I just think the other hermanas in my mission are so awesome. The biggest thing I walked away with is that if I really love God and His children it should affect my priorities and change how I think and act as a missionary.

9-22-1 9-22-2 9-22-5

I was also somehow tricked/forced into dancing in a ward activity on Saturday. Basically as missionaries we don’t have a choice once asked to particpate in these sorts of things. All the years of dance classes I took didn’t really help much. However it ended up being a lot of fun and it was a good way to get to know members and let them laugh at me. And Zulmi came and made more friends which was great!

9-22-4 9-22-3

Other thoughts:

-I think the whole thing about America being addicted to sugar thing is true…or at least it is for me. They eat a lot of whole foods here like beans, rice, vegetables, chicken, and fruit instead of corn syurp. So I want to eat candy and stuff like that way more here than I did at home.

-I had a Princess Diaries moment this week. Ketchup is sold in plastic bags here and I left mine in the fridge next to a pear and when I started eating it, it tasted like pears. I think I have seen that movie too many times…

-A ton of my hair is falling out here. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s so hot here or because my hair is in a bun all day. Either way I may be bald when I get home. -Pacas are like the best thing that have ever happened to me. They’re basically stores that sell used imported American clothes, like Goodwill. And today I went to MEGAPACA. Obviously it’s mega and everything only costs like a dollar so I’m happy!

Quotes:

-¨”You’re like the Pink Panther!” -My comp to me because my legs are always covered in Calamine lotion.

-“Hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny.” -CS Lewis -“FOR NARNIA!!!!” (Everytime we don’t feel like doing something.) -“My diet starts after lunch.” Hahah from another hermana in my district -“Con calor marchemos” -Me (You probably won’t get this unless you know hymns in Spanish.) -“We are commanded by God to take this gospel to all the world. That is the cuase that must unite us today. Only the gospel will unite men of all races and nationalities in peace.” -Ezra Taft Benson.

That’s all for now folks! Hang out in some air conditioning for me. I love being a missionary. It’s the best and hardest thing I’ve ever done. Keep reading your scriptures, saying your prayers, and going to church. Turns out the primary answers are always repeated for a reason 🙂

Hermana Scruggs

A picture of our house in case you're curious.

A picture of our house in case you’re curious.

9-22-12

This is where we eat lunch most days. That is the members' cat who has a name, but we call him Garfield. We are feeding him constantly to fatten him up, but thus far it is not working.

This is where we eat lunch most days. That is the members’ cat who has a name, but we call him Garfield. We are feeding him constantly to fatten him up, but thus far it is not working.

Gluttony at its finest…

Sometimes I'm just a happier missionary if I have pizza.

Sometimes I’m just a happier missionary if I have pizza.

I FOUND DR PEPPER HERE! Finally.

I FOUND DR PEPPER HERE! Finally.

I love my comp!!! Seriously.This has been the best and eaisest companionship for me thus far...so of course she has to leave at the end of this transfer...

I love my comp!!! Seriously.This has been the best and eaisest companionship for me thus far…so of course she has to leave at the end of this transfer…

I'm seriously so addicted to these things.

I’m seriously so addicted to these things.

Leave a Reply

