Week 18 – 9/28/15

Hellllloooo everyone,

Well this week happened. I’m trying to think of interesting things to say, but basically my companion has been sick, she has a bad ear infection and a stomach bacteria so we haven’t worked a whole lot this week. I’m super grateful to be healthy. The biggest news is that our district, Sen Benito has been officially approved to become a stake in December! It’s so awesome. Slowly but surely the work is progressing here!

Sulmi (whoops turns out I was spelling her name wrong) is still doing really well and now has a baptismal date. She went to the Women’s conference Saturday and to church yesterday. Basically it’s a struggle because her grandma is not interested in the church at all. Teaching her instead of her whole family makes everything more complicated. However she is great and loves the church, so I have faith things will work out.

Speaking of Women’s Conference, we went to Women’s Conference! And it was wonderful, of course. So much of being a missionary is about not getting in doctrinal fist fights with other people that it was sooo nice to just listen to listen to the choir and uplifting messages. Elder Uchtdorf’s talk really resonated with me. Things don’t always go the way we want them too, but that’s why we have the Gospel to help us out! Also can I just say I am so excited for General Conference this weekend? If I’m being honest I always liked Conference before my mission, but I was never like eagerly anticpated it. Oh how the mission changes things. In the first lesson we teach people about prophets and how we have a living prophet on the earth today. I’m just beginning to realize how significant that fact really is.

Everytime we teach Elena I leave the lessons feeling more stressed. She has more challenges everytime we teach her. She is now working on Sundays, her boyfriend is in the captial, and she is getting really confused because she is reading literature from the Jehovah’s Witnesses. We’re not really sure what to do to help her. I have really noticed this week that Satan works ridiculously hard with all of our investigators and converts.

We’ve been teaching some very Evangelic people and Jehovah’s Witnesses this week. Rather than thinking about all the other churches as evil, I am trying to learn a little more about their doctrine to just understand them better…and hopefully teach the Gospel to them more effectively. We were repremanded this week for highlighting the Bible. Apparently it is like drawing on Jehovah’s face. We also got in trouble for using makeup, cutting our hair, entering a home without the husband there, having church only once a week, having church on Sunday mornings, and the list goes on. But, the church is true! It’s hard not to get depressed here sometimes. People’s lives are really complicated and difficult here. It just reminds me that the Gospel really solves some many problems, we just have to exercise a little bit of faith.

Quote from this week:

Me walking into Burger King here for the first time, “Oh this smells like America.” My comp… “Yes salt, air conditioning and instant hamburgers.”

It rained a lot this week! My favorite.Inline image 1 Inline image 2 Monochromatic is all the rage down here 🙂 Also can we talk about how I have had that rain coat for 6 years now and it is still going strong??

I feel like this was a short one. I’ll try to write more next week. I miss you all.Having a companion about to finish her mission, I find myself thinking about home more than I would like to. The fact that she is about to go home just comes up constantly. However it has also taught me that the mission really does go by super quickly and I need to take advantage of the time I have out here!

Everyone go to Conference this weekend! 🙂 Hermana Scruggs

9-28-1 9-28-2

Leave a Reply

