Week 20 – 10/12/15

Hi everyone,

To start, PSA: bugs are real gross and there’s a lot of them here.

In the packages I got this week loaded with chocolate and American deliciousness, the best thing I received was 99% deet bug repellent. I guess that explains where my priorities lie at this point.

Okay know that I’ve gotten that out of the way, this week has been one for the books. Basically my comp. was trying to throw a going away party with a ton of members here which is against the rules and nothing was really stopping her including calls from President, so she got taken out of our área. Yay emergency transfers! Actually, no they are a lil’ stressful and quite distracting. Not recommended. However, I did enjoy working with Hermana Ricano for part of the week. She is super obedient and hardworking. I like that in a missionary. I would have been happy staying with her, although I have a new companion coming my way tomorrow night. Her name is Hermana Martínez and she’s from the United States! Yes I enjoy speaking Spanish and getting to know people from all of the world, but honestly I am so excited to have a companion from the US. Really it will not be helpful for my Spanish, but I just think it’s going to be fun. And I am staying in my área!!

This week we were planning on visiting a lot of recent converts. We interrupted one who was working on their family history work, another who was having family home evening with their neighbors, and another who was studying the Book of Mormon. Lo mejor (as they say here). But honestly it is so great to see recent converts doing so well!

We had a zone meeting this week that I probably won’t ever forget. Our zone leaders did a real life demo of the doughnut, pushup story of the Atonement. It was honestly one of the the most powerful things I’ve seen. Almost everyone was crying. The Elder doing the pushups was crying, panting and sweating so hard which is what really did it for me. I also realized that doesn’t even come close to what Christ suffered. We won’t ever be able to understand the Atonement and what Christ suffered fully, but that doesn’t matter. What matters is if we choose to use it to become better and repent. Or take the doughnut so to speak. And who doesn’t like doughnuts?

Our misión has a goal to baptize 100 people in the month of October. We had 45 baptisms this Saturday! And 50 more planned for this week, so it looks like we will meet the goal by the end of the month. It’s so neat to see how this work is progressing here. Sulmi’s grandma doesn’t want her to get baptized. Surprise surprise. She is coming to church by herself and has a super strong testimony so we shall see what happens. I have faith, but ugh it’s really hard trying to get parents’ permission.

Other than that I don’t really remember what happened this week. Hah. Overall I am just happy to be here. This work is important. Everytime I have a “what the heck am I doing here moment?” something happens to remind me and help me refocus.

Can’t upload pictures because this computer has Windows 8 and does anyone know how to use Windows 8? But it doesn’t matter because basically all my pictures are of papusas this week. My love for papusas is so real.

Lots of love,

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

