Week 21 – 10/19/15

Hola,

Transfers happened this week. Oh transfers. They certainly keep life interesting. I was only with Hermana Ricano for 3 days. My new companion is Hermana Martinez. She is from Monterray California and has been out for almost a year. In my experience the first week with a new companion is odd, but we fell into a good rythmn right away! She was super willing to just jump into the new area and get to work which I am really thankful for. I love her. Not just because she speaks English…well that does help.

But also we can identify with each other about the same problems- like our trainers chastizing us for putting toliet paper in the toliet instead of the trash for the first months of our mission. And how we always argue with Latinos that Halls are actually a cough drops, not candy. Plus I’m able to pull out some of my cow jokes again.

I think that’s the only way I made friends before I had to start speaking spanish full time. You know, things like that. But really we are having so much fun together and we’re working hard! I can tell this is going to be a good trasnfer

This week we found 44 new investigators! We set the mission record! President called to congratulate us (I like those kinds of calls from President better). And then our Zone Leaders called us and got mad at us because they thought we were making it up. Hah. We really did find a TON of people this week though. Mostly huge families which is why we found so many The trick now is getting them all to progress. It will be a challenge trying to teach families with 8 people of all different ages, but we’re determined. Really the hardest thing is finding them for a second appointment. The Lord is certainly leading us to find prepared people. I’m just so thankful for the blessings I am constantly receiving out here.

What really helped us find so many people is by contacting with the “Because He Lives” video. That video came out awhile ago, but man it is so good. I think it’s my favorite of all the videos the church has ever made. That video shows all sorts of incredible things that have heppened throughout history, but really the Atonement is the most significant thing that has ever happened and is something that impacts all of us every single day.

Also lot of people this week have told us straight up no, don’t come teach me anymore. Before my mission I thought I would take rejection really hard, but really it’s just a little frusterating and then we move on. Actually it is kind of helpful because we know we don’t need to visit those people for a little while- that maybe they just need a little more time. Share the gospel! Don’t be afraid about getting rejected.

I'm really obsessed with making tortillas. Like I always beg people to let me help them. And actually it's a win all around because I love making tortillas, it's giving service and then people have to talk us!

I’m really obsessed with making tortillas. Like I always beg people to let me help them. And actually it’s a win all around because I love making tortillas, it’s giving service and then people have to talk us!

You can't see behind us because it's super bright, but we ate at a restaurant on the beach today :)

You can’t see behind us because it’s super bright, but we ate at a restaurant on the beach today 🙂

Meet Hermana Martinez. It's been raining a lot this week. Hallelujah!

Meet Hermana Martinez. It’s been raining a lot this week. Hallelujah!

We’re still trying to get Sulmi’s grandma to give permission. Prayers would be appreciated. We are struggling to put other baptismal dates right now, but we have a lot of faith!

Funny quote from this week:

“Don’t buy bread from rude people. It will give you parasites.” (Actually now that I’m reading this, this might only be funny to me and my comp…but whatever.)

Other news! We’re moving! We are the champions of Trebol 1 because missionaries have been trying to leave that house for 5 years. It’s almost completely finalized and we should be in our new house this week. Yay!

Love you all!

Sister Scruggs

Leave a Reply

