Week 23

Hey friends and fam,

Well unlike last week, this week whizzed by! And it was incredible because we had a conference to make our district a stake!!! I am officially working in the Trebol ward. The conference was so so neat. There were probably over 500 people that showed up and all of us missionaries got to greet them coming in. It was one of those “this is what I’m doing here moments.” Hermana Amalia, the lady we eat lunch with told us when she was baptized 35 years ago there were 20 members in this area…I honestly could get emotional about how fast the church has grown here but I won’t because that would be uncomfortable. Hahah but honestly it is so amazing. Another awesome thing about the conference was Elder Olonso (from the 70) called all of the missionaries up to the pulpit and we sang “Soy un Hijo de Dios” for the whole stake. Then he almost started yelling explaining all the things we were sacrificing to be serving as missionaries and how the stake needs to stop ignoring, rejecting, and lying to us- that missionary work is everyone’s responsibility. It was awesome. And definitely a morale booster.

Really what he said is so true. Our job is 1000 times easier when members help us and give us references. For example this week, we found out a member has been bringing his friend to church for the last month and his friend, Jhonatan wants to get baptized. We had one lesson with him and now he’s getting baptized on the 14th of this month. I almost don’t know what to do in lessons like that…it’s almost too easy. The Lord is certainly preparing people for us to teach which I am super grateful for!

We had interviews with President and Hermana Curtiss this week too. It made me happy reflecting back to my last interview and realizing that I actually have grown a little bit in my time out here. The last time I had interviews I was so scared and very new…it’s nice feeling like I can handle things better now. Hermana Curtiss gave us the assignment to study pride in the next couple months. I have been reading “Beware of Pride” from President Benson since I started my mission. Everytime I do I find 10 more things I need to work on. It really is the universal sin that leads to so many other problems…

We are seeing a lot of growth in our area right now. More people progressing and more investigators with baptismal dates. Basically it just makes me really happy. Makes the long days worth it!

I checked another thing off my Guatemala bucket list! I chopped that coconut open and the milk was sooo good.

I checked another thing off my Guatemala bucket list! I chopped that coconut open and the milk was sooo good.

Hermana Bueso and I were roomates in the CCM. She wanted to wake up everyday at 5:30 to get ready...I did not. Hahaha luckily we have resolved our differences and now she's one of my best friends out here.

Hermana Bueso and I were roomates in the CCM. She wanted to wake up everyday at 5:30 to get ready…I did not. Hahaha luckily we have resolved our differences and now she’s one of my best friends out here.

Because I always send the boring, posed, smiling ones...

Because I always send the boring, posed, smiling ones…

This picture is awesome because it displays the matching Converse my comp and I found in Megapaca and our glorious midcalf tanlines.

This picture is awesome because it displays the matching Converse my comp and I found in Megapaca and our glorious midcalf tanlines.

Well this was a short one mostly because the pictures took forever to load. We’re moving this Wednesday! Pray for the elders who will be doing all the heavy lifting for us 🙂 Have a great week! I miss you all. Thanks for the emails…it really is the best to hear from you.

Hermana Scruggs

11-2-8 11-2-7 11-2-6 11-2-5

Leave a Reply

