Week 31

Heyoo,

Did you all have a good Christmas? I hope so. I can’t believe it’s almost 2016. Here’s to making New Year’s Resolutions and keeping them for 2 whole weeks! Just kidding. We should all set goals and stick to them…keeps us improving.

How was my Christmas? I’m sure you’re all dying to know. Like many of you I ate a lot of food. First, I ate a fancy lunch with the bishop. Then I went from house to house eating tons of tamales and ponche. Ponche is basically a juice made from like every fruit in Guatemala. Not my fave, but I drank it to be obedient.

I learned how to wrap tamales. It was awesome. Sometimes when I miss American grocery stores or drinkable tap water I get to do stuff like this and I remember that it’s really neat I’m living in a foreign country.

Guatemala also really likes fireworks. 4 year olds have been lighting fireworks and throwing them at me in the street for the past 2 weeks. I am excited for New Year’s to be over so I can walk in peace again.

12-28-2We had a gift exchange in our district. Turns out missionaries are really bad at buying presents for each other. Shake weights, iron-on letters, and lots of ugly ties were involved.

The highlight of course was talking to the fam. Oh it was great! I miss you all so much. I don’t think that will ever change. And I’ve decided that’s okay because that doesn’t mean I can’t love being a missionary as well. Plus calling home made me start evaluating myself and how I’ve changed throughout my mission. Well there’s one thing, I can’t just have a phone call or other experiences anymore, they all have to be opportunities to learn. But basically I have decided my personality is still the same, I have just refined a few points and still have lots to work on. It’s the most challenging blessing to be out here.

 

12-28-3Guatemala can pack their buses to twice their capacity.

Well besides Christmas, we did some missionary work too. Jose Luis just keeps progressing and progressing and it scares me because I know Satan will start attacking him so hard. Elena, an investigator from a long time ago came to church yesterday too. Elena invited us over to have lunch after church. She basically lives alone with her 2 kids all week. Her husband comes home only on Saturdays. It was fun to just share a meal with her and chat.

We have changes this weekend. We’ll see what happens. I don’t think I’ll get moved because I’m training, but sometimes President randomly breaks trainers and trainees up. So who knows. I would be up for a change in scenery, but I don’t really want to leave my ward or investigators. I’ve given up trying to predict changes because it’s really impossible. It’d be nice to stay in the same area with the same comp for 2 changes (hasn’t happened to me yet!) It’s less work. No one has to learn the area.

Happy 2016!

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

