Week 33

Hello!

This week has flown by. I’m trying to remember what happened. Sometimes I am organized and try to write a couple bullet points of what I am going to say in my email. And sometimes like today, I don’t. So this email will probably be all over the place.

Saturday I was woke up excited to be alive and preach the gospel because we had a day full of appointments with lots of investigators with lots of potential. We had members scheduled to go out in and visit with us all day. Then Elena, our investigator who was supposed to get baptized the 23rd told us she was never going to get married and no longer wanted to be baptized. Then NOT A SINGLE PERSON WAS HOME. I’m talking like 9 appoints. I think that’s a record. None of our members could come out with us. All this stuff is normal, but for some reason the fact that it all happened the same day was rough. By 8:30 I was not feeling that peppy anymore.

However I have realized in those moments it’s when God is really testing us. In those moments we figure out if we are actually patient, faithful, and able to apply the principles we teach all day long.

The next morning no one came to church. I was feeling more discouraged. We hadn’t been able to visit Jose Luis all week, but we finally convinced a member to go visit us with him. And he’s getting baptized on the 23rd!!! Seriously a miracle. I think I’ve said it before, but in the moments I feel like quitting, something amazing always happens after. The great stuff makes me forget about all the not so great stuff. Like Saturday.

The watch the member gave to me broke. I seriously cannot function without one. I have learned lots of painful lessons about punctuality out here. I’m not exaggerating, we can show up to 10 citas on time and the one we miss or show up late to is the one when our investigators are waiting. It is SUCH a struggle to be on time (especially in Latin America) for so many reasons, but Hermana Arragui and I are constantly fighting to be punctual. Showing up late is about the best way to lose people’s confidence without saying a single word to them! Amazing.

Half of district meeting this week was dedicated to how we need to update the area book. Holy cow that is probably the most I have ever spoken in district meeting. The type-a in me has given me very strong feelings about the area book haha. The rest of DM we talked about Jacob 5. If you have 2 hours you should read that chapter and think about how you can start working in the vineyard!

You’re all studying from Howard W. Hunter this year too, right? I love love love this quote from him: “Please remember this one thing. If our lives and our faith are centered upon Jesus Christ and his restored gospel, nothing can ever go permanently wrong. On the other hand, if our lives are not centered on the Savior and his teachings, no other success can ever be permanently right.” It’s a bit of a struggle for me to stay awake in church because basically once I stop moving I want to fall asleep, but this one did keep me awake.

Ummm besides that I ordered pizza twice this week. It was one of those weeks. Our landlords burn our trash (welcome to Guatemala) so they’re probably judging me. Also my comp made her first tortillas this week. Awwwhh. I swear it’s the best way to contact. People think it’s hilarious that we know how to make tortillas. Sometimes I still cannot believe I am running around in Guatemala in a long skirt begging people to let me make tortillas…pero asi es.

I did not take a single picture this week. I’m sorry. Most of you probably only look at the pictures, if anyone is still reading these emails. I’ll take some this week. Well that’s all for now folks. Enjoy some root beer and salt and vinegar potato chips for me.

This country is seriously missing out.

Love,

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

