Week 40

Hola hola,

Happy Monday! Every Monday in the mission is a happy Monday 🙂

I am loving my new area. The members here are incredible. The goal is to have a branch and a chapel by the end of the year, so they are all super motivated to share the gospel. Right now we rent this little house, but we barely fit! But honestly the members here are calling us to ask when they can come out and visit and we get references like everday. Also all the people I have found here so far just seem really prepared. The mission goal is to find 15 new investigators every week (yeah we have a lot of people to keep track of). Usually 5 seem like they have potential, but here they all seem really ready.

Training makes me feel like the most impatient person in the world sometimes. Ugh but of course I am learning lots so I guess it’s good 😉

For example:

-We found 4 sisters at 8:30 on Wednesday. I started talking to them just to have something to do until 9, but we had a great lesson and now they all want to go to church.

-Yesterday taught the Restoration (not very well) to a guy named Denis and then repeated everything back to us way better than we explained it. He told us he only thinks there is one true church but isn’t currently attending anywhere. This is hard to come by…everyone here goes somewhere!

President and Hermana Curtiss decided to drop by for our district meeting on Thursday. No one really knew why. We are about as far away from them and the mission office as you can get. They told us they just wanted to be with us. I seriously adore them and fan-girl pretty hard whenever they are around. They leave in July and I will probably cry. Hermana Curtiss told us “if you’re investigators really truly learn how to repent, they will stay active in the church.” True. They took us all out to lunch after. It was just good to see them!

2-29-5

This is our little church building.

2-29-4

I have been eating a version of this for the last 9 months.

We played kickball for pday today. An Elder kicked a ball at my face and it hurt. Then he gave me 10 quetzales because he felt bad hahah.

2-29-1

Also this happened. I hit my halfway mark! I didn’t take pregnant pictures, but I did burn a skirt. I’m not sure if that’s frowned upon or not, so I didn’t ask and just did it. I am thrilled. 9 months down. 9 more to enjoy. I miss home and all of you lovely people more than I can even say, but I just love being a missionary as well. Part of me feels like this has been the longest 9 months of my life, but a bigger part feels like I have blinked and now it’s halfway over. These last 9 months have been by far my biggest challenge and my greatest achomplisment.

Mostly I am just grateful for what I have learned, the people I have met, and all that cliche stuff. All the sudden I am an “older” missionary and I am supposed to know what’s going on out here. The gospel is true. If I have learned anything in the last 9 months, it is certainly that!

I might go get my one and only haircut to celebrate, but I’m scared…I’ve heard lots of horror stories.

Have a great week!

Love,

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

