Week 44 – 3/28/16

Friends and fam,

Normally week 6 I feel a little antsy because that’s when we find out about changes. However this week, I barely thought about it because I was like 95% sure Hermana Herrera and I were staying put, but surprise! I’m going to Coban. I really didn’t want to leave Dolores, I felt like I was just getting started. But I have to say I am excited for a cooler climate in Coban. And I’ll be near the mission office and Subway and McDonalds so that will also be okay. Every transfer I have had has been drastic.

A lot of people just hop over an area in their district. I’ve been assigned all over the mission!

The other big news is that I got assigned to be a sister training leader! Or hermana lider as we say here. Basically I will get to work with a third of the sisters in the mission…do divisions, help train, teach in conferences, stuff like that. It’s a LOT of work. Lots of traveling and meetings. i honestly don’t know how the hermanas lideres do it. Missionary work alone is exhausting enough. However I have learned that everytime something seems difficult as a missionary, that yes it can be done because we don’t have a choice hahah. I’m excited and freaked out. I feel like I still have so much to learn which is probably why I got this assignment. I am going to be comps with Hermana Martinez again! It’s going to be great!

What else? Easter is not a big deal here…everyone goes on to the beach. But it was nice sharing the Easter video and reflecting a little bit more about the Savior’s life. And Women’s Conference! Great messages and wasn’t the choir fabulous?

Saying goodbye to Dolores was sad. I don’t like goodbyes. I do my best to keep them as low key as possible. Too many feelings. This is just how the mission goes.

3-28-2

Goodbye pictures. Familia Gomez. This family basically does all of the callings. They’re wonderful!

3-28-1

Oscar and Ilder…both recent converts and good buddies. Oscar passed the Sacrament yesterday! It was an exciting moment. I am bummed I won’t get to see him keep progressing.

Quotes:

“Jesus died for our pescados” (pecado is sin and pescados is fish) hahahah a little 10 year old boy we were teaching. It was adorable.

-“There’s lots of you mormoncitos runnning around aren’t there?”

A kid also ran a kite into my face this week. I think missionary work is taking a toll on my reflexes.

Well I am getting on a bus to head to Coban tomorrow. I love this work, it is so infuriating and wonderful at the same time. Hope you’re all reading your scriptures and saying your prayers. Little things make a big difference!

Love,

Hermana Scruggs

3-28-3

Leave a Reply

