Week 56 – 6/20/16

Hola hola,

Well like I said last week, this week has basically been divisions, divsions divisions. Like I also said, divisions take about twice as much energy as a normal day, so I’m just happy I survived!

Adventures from divisions this week:

-I saw the WORST case of Chikunguyna ever. Mosquitos suck.

-I had to help resolve issues about a 14 year old investigator who wanted to marry a 22 year old member of the church she was living in sin with…

-We saw a companionship literally on the verge of killing each other. I don’t really know what to say besides “you kind of have to suck it up and be patient” but I’m pretty sure people don’t appreciate hearing that.

-In one area basically every investigator had fallen in love with the hermana who had been there previously and now wants nothing to do with the gospel…so we were also trying to problem-solve that one also.

I have a LOT of respect for mission presidents. They deal with this kind of stuff but from like 60 companionship…We get to help share a little bit of the burden, but holy cow a lot falls on the prez and their wife. Props!

Also two different investigators gave me shoes this week. One who has a paca (basically where they sell used, imported clothes from the States). She told me my feet looked really big and she had a pair of flats no one wants to buy because everyone’s feet here are tiny, so she gave them to me. Then the next day another investigator pulled out like 5 pairs of shoes and said they were all too big for her but thought they would fit my feet. So I basically hit the jackpot.

Speaking of my big feet,my doctor wrote in huge uppercase letters “SHE CAN NOT SERVE IN AN ALL WALKING MISSION.” Because I have flat feet and an extra bone sticking out of one of them which causes a lot of knee and back pain. Luckily the prophet ignored my doctor and sent me here anyway. And you know what…thanks to a lot of really expensive shoes I’ve been okay! I have to say I am looking forward to driving again when I get home. Especially the brand new car that was purchased a day after I left on my mission.

It’s changes weekend. ME AND HERMANA FERNANDEZ ARE STAYING TOGETHER. It’s seriously a miracle. Neither of us ever get to stay in our areas or with our companions so we’re psyched. Things just are going really well here. We’re going to have a lot of changes with the new president coming soon, so I’m very happy to stay put. Hermana Arragui, one of my old comps is coming down to my zone so I’m really excited to see her.

Okay let’s talk about something spiritual…D&C 12:8 And no one can assist in this work except he shall be humble and full of love, having faith, hope, and charity,being temperate in all things, whatsoever shall been trusted to his care.

This mission is the most wild, emotion rollercoaster ever sometimes. It’s spiritually, physically, emotionally, and mentally exhausting sometimes and we just have to smile and handle it. This week I saw a one and half year old crying so much because she was so hungry but her mom didn’t have any food to give her. I saw happy stuff like Gunter turning in a weeks worth of seminary work because he just started going and wants to make up all the stuff he’s missed. But anyways there’s a lot of highs and lows and I love this scripture because it teaches us to be temperate! And you know what at the end of the day missionary work does make me happy.

Miracles…Mishell and Angela and her daughter Yessica. They are listening and on their way to baptism. Of course a lot of challenges are coming their way. The adversary is real! Pray for them!

What else? Well every single one of our companionships had a change, so we’re working with 5 brand new companionships of hermanas.

 

6-20-1

I haven’t talked about chocos in awhile, but they’re still a very important part of my life. I think the small child behind us is jealous.

6-20-3

This is from the zoo last week.

6-20-2

D-d-d-divisions. And pizza.

Love you all! School’s just about out right? Weird.

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

