Week 61 – 7/25/16

HOLA,

Well I’m jazzed because me and my companion just won (I typed that orginially as “one”…I think I need to go back to college) our zone photo scavenger hunt. I pretty much didn’t want to do it because we run around all week so why would I want to do it on p-day, but I won a this cool mug so I shouldn’t have complained.

7-28-2

What else? Yessica got baptized! She’s the daughter of Angela, our other convert. This little girl wouldn’t even talk to us when we started teaching her mom, so progress! I adore this family. I obviously have a lot of love and respect for single moms. And these girls will just always have a special place in my heart. Her baptism was super sweet and spiritual. Lots of members showed up which was the best. We have 4 companionships of missionaries in our ward, the APs, the ZLs, us, and one set of the office elders.

Sometimes I whine about it because the ward has so many sets of missionaries to help that sometimes I feel like we have to scream to get people’s attention, but it always works out!

Do you want to know what my week is actually like? Well here goes:

6:30 BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP. Slam. (This actually doesn’t bug me anymore. The mish has kind of turned me into a morning person.)

6:30-7:00 We exercise. Well my companion does Zumba and sometimes I do Zumba. Sometimes I stretch and do abs and back stuff because we walk a lot and I have to be careful with my back.

7:00-8:00 We shower and get dressed. I am SO horribly bored of all my mission clothes because we don’t wear jeans or coats so I just feel like I wear the same skirts and shirts everyday. For breakfast I usually make eggs or pancakes. I eat a ton in the morning compared to all my companions. They all eat cereal which keeps me full for about an hour…

8:00-9:00 Personal study. Sometimes we travel to go study with other hermanas which changes our whole morning scheudle. We study the lessons and for investigators and their questions.

9:00-10:00 Companionship study. We say our purpose as missionaries, D&C 4 and read from the mission manuel. We do practices and call people we’re going to visit during the day.

10:00-11:00 is supposedly language study but we are usually traveling after studying with other hermanas or in divisions or in meetings I never get to do language study anymore. We’re supposed to learn Q’echi’ the native langauge here, but I have learned not even a lick of it yet because we never have time!

Then we go visit people until 9 o’clock at night.

We eat lunch with a member. They let us name their cat. We named is Ricky Martin. We do divisions once a week. Weekly planning once a week (longest 2 hours of my life). Annnnd distirct meeting once a week. That’s my life!

Highlights:

-An investigator telling us that she can’t get answers quickly to her prayers..”this isn’t a cup-a-noodle hermanas. I’m not going to have my answer in 3 minutes!”

-This adorable old lady named Candelaria went to church with us yesterday.

-A less-active family we had pretty much given up on told us yesterday they want to come back to church!

-I met a couple (who are members) who have been dating for 14 years and still aren’t married. Another couple I talked to (also members) met June 1st and got married June 24th.

So whatever you did probably isn’t as crazy as you thought.

-I had a Chilean hotdog with President and Hermana Faundez.

Transfers are coming up this weekend. I don’t really want to leave, but I probably will. There’s only two areas I can go to. I’d be excited to go to Carcha (it’s like 15 minutes away) but the other area is in Peten (the hot place) and I really don’t want to go there!

Love,

Hermana Scrubs

7-28-1

Leave a Reply

