Week 66 – 8/29/16

Hola hola hola,

You know what’s fun? Opening up my email and reading emails from friends serving missions from all over the world. Almost everyone I met at BYU are now serving missions. It’s the best!

Mario didn’t get baptized on Saturday. He had an interview Friday but then freaked out and decided he wasn’t ready. Not gonna lie it was hard to deal with. He was SO excited. Then he didn’t go to church. Everyone who knew him was just like, “what the heck happened?” I didn’t have a good answer for them. I feel like he is a little bird who I have seen hatch and has learned to fly. He’s just afraid to take off and spread his little wings because he’s afraid to fall, but he’s ready! Hahahah that was the strangest analogy I’ve made, but it paints the picture eh?

The good news is…we visited him yesterday and he’s excited again. We weren’t planning on visiting him. We went to go visit a family who is almost never home and the dad was there! We wanted to teach him so badly, but we can’t be alone with dudes. It was tempting. We put a different cita and went to see Mario instead and put another baptismal date with him. Wohoo blessings for following the rules!

We’ve got a baptismal date for part of the Lopez family! We SCREAMED after that lesson.

Other big news: we started going to the gym. I tell you this for 2 reasons. First of all, we all know if anyone goes to the gym or goes for a run they have to tell the whole world so that everyone knows how fit they are. Secondly, because I actually feel so much better. It’s insane because we have to get up like an hour earlier, but for some reason we like it. We talk a lot so I’ve never worried too much about more exercise…but you should all go do some exercise. You’ll feel better. And eat some fruits and veggies. I can’t eat very many here because they’re all dirty..which reminds me, mangoes are officially out of season and no where to be found and I’m going through withdrawals.

We got our water back! But now it’s only coming out freezing cold. Pray for us.

I love President Monson’s quote about how he wants to be ready whenever the Lord needs him. I’m too lazy to look it up. Anyways I want to be more ready to respond to spiritual promptings. Saturday, a less-active family I didn’t really feel like visiting popped into my head. I was like “ehh no I don’t want to.” But we went anyways and it turns out they really needed a visit!

We did some divisions this week. STL stuff is all blurring together in my mind because I’ve been in this area and working with the same areas and same hermanas for so long now. It’s great though! I always learn lots.

We’re begging the ward to help us with our 14 recent converts in our area. We basically still have to treat recent converts like investigators a lot of the time, but we don’t have time to visit them all! It’s really challenging.

Remember how my comp is going to be the mission nurse? Well she’s vaccinating all of the Coban missionaries this Thursday and had to practice on the assistants and myself! It actually didn’t hurt, she did a good job 🙂

Quote of the week: “We can’t direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails.” -President Monson

Enjoy the journey people! Life is good.Challenges make us better. Keep working hard even when all you feel like doing is taking a nap. The mission has certainly taught me that. Have a great week. Woohoo back to school!

Love,

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

