Week 68 – 9/12/16

HELLO,

I forgot to mention this last week, but were starting a new transfer right now. I know you’re all dying to know where I’m going right? Well I’m staying here. I’ve been in the same area in Coban now for 5 1/2 months. 4 transfers for those of you who have served missions. I’m going on 5. It’s kind of a long time, but I really like my area and my investigators so I’m happy.

Plus, they’re about to split my gigantic ward into 3 so my area boundaries are going to split sometime into this change which will mix it up for me. So all is well.

I’m SO excited for the ward to split. It is going to be pure chaos at first but it will be great for the members. I’m probably going to finish my mish here. CRAZY.

Yeah I’m officially starting my second to last transfer. Yeah it’s crazy. It’s exciting, sad, overwhelming, and happy. Ask anyone who has served a a mission…lots of feelings. During the week I try not to think about it. But Mondays it’s hard to avoid. Elder Uchtdorf said to imagine we’re always in the middle of our missions, so that’s what I’m planning on doing.

Our cellphone got robbed (IN A BAPTISM OF THE ELDERS. That’s like a triple sin…robbing missionaries, in a church, in a baptism.) And we are using payphones. It’s very vintage. And let’s note that Guatemala still has payphones. Actually it’s very inconvenient because we have a zillion people who will be sleeping at our house in the next 2 days and we have no way to talk to them.

This last week has been full of concilio, zone meetings and divisions. We were dumb and somehow they all ended up on the same week. I love and hate busy weeks. They go by quick but they are exhausting. I went to Salama and got to teach some people I taught when I was there a year ago. Crazy.

9-12-1

My comp said I looked rich sitting in that chair, drinking that drink so she took a picture of me hahah.

 

My daughter and granddaughter. It might be the last time we’re all together 😦

I don’t know if I’ve already said this, but we live in a hostel (permanently). I met a Seattle U student this week who is hear finishing her grad in public health nursing. Basically living my dream life. All this is a very small world.

Well Irene is doing good. She should be married this week. All my other investigators are great. It’s neat staying in an area and seeing lots of progress with recent converts as well.

I was reading in 2 Nephi 31 today. The gospel is the ONLY way to get back to our Heavenly Father. The one and only. How I wish people here could understand that better.

Have a lovely week!

Hermana Scruggs

9-12-4

Leave a Reply

