Week 70 – 9-26-16

Hola hola,

Well I just got off the phone with Bank of America after being on hold basically for an hour which didn’t put me in the greatest mood, but I’ll try to make this a peppy email. Anyone who knows how to un-block debit cards from another country your advice is greatly appreciated.

This week has been pretty average. We went to another district’s district meeting on Wednesday to visit some hermanas. The chapel had such a pretty view. I definitely need to live near mountains because it just makes everything look more pretty and majestic.

Friday we were in divisions. When I went to Salama to pick up my comp I found her washing cucumbers in a farm in the middle of nowhere. She also got to milk a cow.

PSA: you should all wash your vegetables because we were basically wiping cow poop off these cucumbers with cow-pooped water. Sorry if that’s gross. Reality isn’t pretty sometimes.

To be real, sometimes I would like a break from being hermana leader because the thrill of it has kind of worn off and now it just feels like a lot of extra work….and sometimes we get to do stuff like this and I remember it’s really fun sometimes.

Women’s conference was great!!! I mean you already know that, but seriously Conference is the most anxiously awaited weekend for missionaries besides Christmas and Mother’s Day. All day long we are fighting with people and trying to defend the most basic doctrines of the church. So Conference is a breath of uplifiting fresh air. I LOVE Bonnie L. Oscarson. She is just so powerful. We need more women like that!

Food for thought:

“I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to scorn human actions, but to understand.” -Baruch Spinoza

Ummmmm we started teaching 2 kids..Berlyn and Angelito. Their dad has been inactive but recently came back to church. We happened to walk by him earlier in the week….then later on we showed up where his mom sells tortillas and he was just like “hermanas my kids need to get baptized! I saw you earlier this week and I didn’t talk to you, but now I get a second chance!” God really puts people in our path sometimes. We had walked and walked and walked like pioneer children that day and no one was letting us in…then we met this dad!

All my other investigators are still alive. Taking over my thoughts, dreams, and conversations like usual. Aziza is studying psychology and chose to study the missionaries as her thesis project which is super neat! We’re all being tested tonight in our leadership meeting.

The gospel works. I believe there is a direct relationship between faithfulness in the gospel and success in life. I see it. People who live the gospel are happier, they have balanced lives, and things just seem to work out!

Coban wheather report:

8:00am-1:00pm HOT

1:00pm-6:00pm RAIN

6:00pm-9:00 COLD

Makes getting dressed a lil’ complicated.

Love,

Hermana Shamms (when I actually hear my last name pronounced correctly I might not recognize it anymore.)

Leave a Reply

