Week 71 – 10/3/16

Hello beautiful people,

Woah I don’t even know where to start so much happened this week. This will probably be out of order and very long.

Conference!!! Awesome. Doesn’t get much better (or more nostalgic) than an MTC choir. They were cute with their shiny shiny plaques. Did you know in Spanish Called to Serve has 4 verses? Fun fact. I’ve been blessed each conference to be around other Americans and watch Conference in English. We understand each other and talk about America and understand the need to eat snacks during Conference.

Well I loved Conference because it was all about missionary work and simple doctrine. Prayer, Sabbath day, the Plan of Salvation, etc. Basically everyone was talking about the JOY the gospel brings. Love it. That’s why we do this because the gospel makes people happy. Honestly I never appreciated Conference before my mission but now I understand how incredible it is to have a living prophet and apostles.

We have 2 hermanas moving into our house tonight. I’m excited. I always thought it would be fun to live with another companionship. We’ll see how I feel once they’re actually living with me, but I’m sure we’ll have a ball.

Concilio happened on Monday. I didn’t take many pictures this week, so I’m including this picture. The elders always steal my camera. I love concilio and working with the ZLs. I think it’s one of the things I’ll miss most.

10-3-2

THE FAMILIA LOPEZ IS GETTING BAPTIZED. Their daughter has had a baptismal date now for a couple weeks but her mom was basically the one who still couldn’t decide. I have been teaching this family since June. It’s extremely rare that we teach anyone for that long but something has kept us going back. We had one more chance to but the baptismal date with Aziza (the mom) before they left on a trip. I was pretty sure we were going to have to stop teaching her becuase she kept saying the same things over and over and over again. Finally we just bore our testimonies and the Spirit was so strong…and she finally said “me voy a bautizar el 8” It was a miracle. We are SO grateful. They are future leaders in the church!

10-3-1

We played Blackjack with gummie worms today in the church. Is that bad? President Faundez didn’t say anything…Have I ever told you I love sister missionaries? Friends from Chile, Nicaragua, Honduras and the Dominican Republic!

Speaking of Presidente…we had interviews this week. It’s always nice to get to chat one on one with him and Hermana Faundez. Hermana Scruggs must be getting close to finishing her mission because we were talking about marriage and college half the time….

I ate pig intestines, liver, and cow tongue this week.

Quotes:

-“The man who can master his time can master nearly everything.” -Bernard M. Baruch -“Hermana Scruggs by the time Hermana Faundez and I finish our mission you will be married, have two children, and be pregnant with your third.” -President Faundez

Question: Are you causing a problem or helping someone fix theirs? I’ve been asking myself a lot this week.

I’m learning hard lessons about leadership. I feel like I’ve maybe lost a couple friends this week. Our zone is having a lot of obedience problems and we have to help them be obedient. Unfortunately they don’t want to make changes, but doing nothing isn’t what a good leader should do. So I’m trying to deal with the consequences and honestly it’s hard…but we’re learning. Sigh. Lots of pressure sometimes, but we’re happy.

Have a great week!

Hermana Scruggs

Leave a Reply

